Posted by: Maggie | September 25, 2007

Falling Asleep Reading Scripture

“But, Maggie, don’t you fall asleep

reading that much scripture

at one time?” 

Yes, I certainly do! 

This is why it is important to schedule reading during a time when I can catch a short nap, or two.  It makes for very deep and pleasant naps! 

Exodus has been harder than Genesis.  But, I’m 2/3 through!!  (Leviticus, I may as well schedule to read through the night so that I can nap off and on all night!)  But, it’s only three days or so…then Judges and Kings are very fascinating stories again! 

Exodus has so many laws that, at a basic level, are the basis of many of our laws today.  Realizing God’s fairness and thoughtfulness  judging man and helping him live with his brother — amazing.  He thought of everything, even modesty as they were climbing the steps offering their sacrifices.

It’s just not as a great a story line to keep me from nodding off here and there. 

So, I’m up doing laundry at midnight as a result.  Boy Wonder got a new favorite shirt today…you all will be able to guess which one by what he has on for the next 8-10 times you see him most likely.  Ebay is our friend with team jerseys…he got his fav for $25 like new as opposed to $50.  Thank you, Lord!

It’s 12:30am.  Readings done, laundry done…now let’s see if I can get back to sleep without waking The Hub.

Responses

  1. I’m a little behind. I’ve made it to Exodus 10. I have a memorize on Exodus 4:12 – Now therefore go, and I will be with thy mouth, and teach thee what thou shalt say.

    Understand about falling asleep while reading…thus I have to do it first thing in the morning … 😀 But now that I read this…maybe that’s not a bad thing…LOL…He did tell me to meditate on his word day and night…


Leave a Reply

Categories

