Posted by: Maggie | March 11, 2008

Return

“But the meek will inherit the land and enjoy great peace.”  Ps. 37:11

Just this one simple verse.  One line. 

Peace.  Meekness. 

I must repent, for my lack of meekness is keeping me from joyfully receiving what you call “best”.  My lack of meekness is keeping me from peace.  My lack of meekness is keeping me from “inheriting” all the territory you have for us.  Because…I think there must be a better way.  There must have been.  Perhaps we missed it.  Someone had to.  Yet…here we are.  And in meekness, in quietness, in trust, I can say, “Okay.”  

I can’t yet, but I know that meekness will take me there.  Lord, I give you myself and I pray for your meek and humble and mild spirit to permeate my bones, seep into my spirit, and bleed out my emotions.  Let trust in You, who can give nothing but good, make me as steel. 

Or, as a tree, planted by streams of water, whose roots branch out, whose leaves do not wither in times of drought, and it does not cease to bear fruit when the heat comes.  (Proverbs 1)  You deserve that kind of glory in my life.  You’ve earned that kind of trust.  It hurts.  Life hurts.  It is too much for me.  But, not for you.  Grace is not there today, because the need is not year here, but it will be tomorrow, or whenever I truly need it.  The grace will be there.  The provision will be there.   You will be enough. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

