Posted by: Maggie | January 3, 2011

God Sightings, Day 3 Journal

Matthew 4

Food for thought:

After Jesus spent 40 days fasting in the desert, then was tempted and withstood, his healing ministry began.

When Jesus saw people working, he turned those skills into evangelism skills, and they were fulfilled in that calling.

God sightings:

Today has been a trying day.  Waiting at businesses, no service, waiting more, distracted service, conversational service.  So hard to slow down, be sweet, and just let the day “be”.

I saw God…

changing my attitude, making it new, calling me to embrace the “clean up” jobs that seem more monotonous with the family gone back to work and school.  Filling the day, dirty clothes, dirty dishes, clean clothes, clean dishes, drying clothes, drying dishes, putting away clothes, putting away dishes.   And in between, crums, and cooking, and stresses, and demands.

Prayer:

Lord, help me embrace the scripture I read from my friend, Laura, today on facebook.  “‎”Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can undersatnd. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus” –
Philippians 4:6-7

Confession:

I am worried about one of my kids.  How easy it is to miss something at school that causes them to not succeed.  Lord, fix that!  I am so dependent on what they tell me, and notes they write.  Sometimes their success is dependent on things they are not just strong in yet, and it’s frustrating.  I want to help them learn in spite of some of their weak areas–give me patience and insight. Give us favor to help us when things get tough.

I See God: Trying to help me slow down.  Giving me peace.  Helping me serve my family.

Leave a Reply

Categories

